Cloud Nothings – “Modern Act”

Cloud Nothings – “Modern Act”

Last month, Dylan Baldi teased an upcoming Cloud Nothings album that was “slowed down” and “vocal-heavy,” and today the band has announced that their new album, which is called Life Without Sound, will be out 1/27. They played two new songs from it at a show in Brooklyn last night, one of which was “Modern Act,” which happens to be their lead single that they debuted on Sirius XMU just a few minutes ago.

The new album was produced by John Goodmanson (Sleater-Kinney, Death Cab For Cutie) at Sonic Ranch in El Paso, Texas. “Generally, it seems like my work has been about finding my place in the world,” Baldi explains in a press release. “But there was a point in which I realized that you can be missing something important in your life, a part you didn’t realize you were missing until it’s there — hence the title. This record is like my version of new age music. It’s supposed to be inspiring.”

Hear the new track and check out the album details below.

01 “Up To The Surface”
02 “Things Are Right With You”
03 “Internal World”
04 “Darkened Rings”
05 “Enter Entirely”
06 “Modern Act”
07 “Sight Unseen”
08 “Strange Year”
09 “Realize My Fate”

Life Without Sound is out 1/27 via Carpark (US) and Wichita Recordings (UK).

more from New Music