The Obsessed – “Razor Wire”

When they started putting out music in 1980, DC originators the Obsessed helped define the way doom metal would sound for decades to come. Over the years, the Obsessed have broken up and gotten back together several times, and frontman Scott “Wino” Weinrich has gone onto form bands like Saint Vitus and Spirit Caravan. Last year, the band released the towering “Sodden Jackyl,” their first new song in more than 20 years. And now there’s more where that came from. The Obsessed have announced the impending release of Sacred, their first album since 1994. And they’ve shared “Razor Wire,” a big, fat bulldozer of a song that exists on some bongwater-stained continuum between Black Sabbath and Motörhead. Below, listen to “Razor Wire” and check out the tracklist for Sacred.

01 “Sodden Jackal”
02 “Punk Crusher”
03 “Sacred”
04 “Haywire”
05 “Perseverance Of Futility”
06 “It’s Only Money”
07 “Cold Blood”
08 “Stranger Things”
09 “Razor Wire”
10 “My Daughter My Son”
11 “Be The Night”
12 “Interlude”
13 “On So Long” *
14 “Crossroader Blues” *

* Bonus tracks

Sacred is out 4/7 on Relapse.

Tags: The Obsessed