Stream The Goodbye Party’s New Project Stray Sparks

Stream The Goodbye Party’s New Project Stray Sparks

Last year, Michael Cantor’s project the Goodbye Party released a new album, Beautiful Motors, his first full-length since 2014. It was filled with some catchy and well-crafted rock songs, but he’s following that up today with a new release called Stray Sparks, which is more muted and plaintive, a 20-minute collection of song sketches and loose ideas and ambient bits that is still pretty potent.

“I assembled the tape over a two-week period this summer. Without any plan, I started recording and blending voice memos from the past year into new songs and sounds,” Cantor said in a statement. “Many of these songs were written in workshops led by [Big Thief]’s Buck Meek and [Lomelda]’s Hannah Read, including ‘Plain Sight,’ ‘Magnolia,’ and ‘Sparrow.’ I just wanted to make something new, quickly, for myself, with no expectation of what it would become.”

Check it out below.

01 “Wave Field”
02 “Spirit”
03 “Plain Sight”
04 “Graphite”
05 “Sparrow”
06 “Stray”
07 “Blue Mirror”
08 “Prayer”
09 “Honey”
10 “Magnolia”
11 “MFL Gospel Singers”

A limited-edition Stray Sparks cassette is out 11/12 via Double Double Whammy.

Emily Burtner

more from New Music