Jukebox: New Cat Power Album Art & Tracklist

Recorded in Dallas, Miami, and New York with the Dirty Delta Blues and Stuart Sikes, Cat Power’s Jukebox — due out at the end of January — picks up where The Covers Record left off, with Chan Marshall lodging ten new interpretations of other folks’ music, along with a new version of her “Metal Heart” and a newbie “Song To Bobby.” Impressive tracklist and psychedelic album art after the jump.

01 Theme From “New York, New York” (Frank Sinatra)
02 “Metal Heart” (Cat Power)
03 “Ramblin? (Wo)man” (Hank Williams)
04 “Song To Bobby” (Cat Power)
05 “Aretha, Sing One For Me” (George Jackson)
06 “Lost Someone” (James Brown)
07 “I Believe In You” (Bob Dylan)
08 “Fortunate Son” (Creedence Clearwater Revival)
09 “Silver Stallion” (Lee Clayton)
10 “Dark End Of The Street” (Dan Penn & Chips Morman; originally sung by James Carr)
11 “Don?t Explain” (Billie Holiday)
12 “Woman Left Lonely” (Janis Joplin)

Talk about taking on the biggies. Very excited for Joplin and some CCR, but all have us kinda goose pimply. As far as the artwork … how’s about this lovin’ spoonful of retro goodness?

Jukebox is out 1/22 on Matador.

Tags: Cat Power