Sufjan Stevens, Cat Power, And Jim James & Calexico Cover Dylan

You can stop watching the I’m Not There trailer now and get listening to some of the soundtrack for Todd Haynes’ mucho anticipated, shape-shifting Dylan flick. Check out the album art below — A Bobby double looming large. Sufjan, Chan, and Jim James & Calexico streams after the jump.

Peep the aforementioned tracks by Sufjan Stevens, Cat Power, Jim James & Calexico here. Chan’s in fine form for “Stuck Inside of Mobile With the Memphis Blues Again,” which bodes well for Jukebox. Sufjan’s final flourish on “Ring Them Bells”? Very Sufjan and very awesome. You can provide your own syllables for the My Morning Jacket/Calexico mind-meld. Speaking of collaborations, a bunch of the tracks — including tunes by Eddie Vedder, Stephen Malkmus, and Karen O — are fleshed-out by the so-called “Million Dollar Bashers,” a band put together for the flick that includes Lee Ranaldo, Steve Shelley, Tom Verlaine, Nels Cline, Smokey Hormel, John Medeski and Dylan band bassist Tony Garnier. Smokin’.

Yup, we’re throwing a lot your way at once, but these Dylan fans are also throwing a party: You can catch some of the interpretations live 11/7 at the Beacon Theater (it benefits those fine pedagogical folks at our beloved 826). The aforementioned J. James & Calexico and Cat Power will be there along with Yo La Tengo (with Buckwheat Zydeco), My Morning Jacket in full, Mark Lanegan, Terry Adams Rock & Roll Quartet, Mason Jennings, Joe Henry, John Doe, Michelle Shocked & Jimmy LeFave, The Roots, Gomez’s Ian Ball & Olly Peacock, Lee Ranaldo & the Million Dollar Bashers, J Mascis, etc. Get the official skinny here.

The I’m Not There Soundtrack is out 10/30 on Columbia. The film itself starts projecting 11/21.