Leonard Cohen – “Show Me The Place”

Last month, Leonard Cohen mentioned that he had a new album called Old Ideas, his first studio LP in seven years, coming early next year. And now we know he wasn’t kidding. Old Ideas drops in January, and the new song “Show Me The Place,” which is absolutely gorgeous, is streaming below. It finds Cohen’s voice in a rumbling sing-speak baritone that recalls Tom Waits at his most restrained, and it features a hushed choir and a funereal violin. It makes me want to hear Old Ideas very, very badly. Listen to the song and check out the tracklist after the jump.

01 “Going Home”
02 “Amen”
03 “Show Me The Place”
04 “The Darkness”
05 “Anyhow”
06 “Crazy To Love You”
07 “Come Healing”
08 “Banjo”
09 “Lullaby”
10 “Different Sides”
(via Pitchfork)

Old Ideas is out 1/31 on Columbia.