New Death Cab For Cutie Video – “Meet Me On The Equinox”

While this song was written expressly for New Moon, Ben Gibbard’s admitted he’s never read any of Stephanie Meyer’s vampire romance novels (he’s more of a Kerouac fan). Chris Walla, however, has read the first two! And Nick Harmer is like super into zombies and shit. Not to mention the saga is set in DCFC’s neck of the woods. My point is, this partnership isn’t really weird at all. (Thom Yorke’s contribution is still a tiny bit weird.) In this dusky video for the blockbuster soundtrack’s first single, RPattz and KStew (yes I just typed that) appear via dramatic film scenes cut with equally dramatic close-ups of the band. Except during the bridge when they all stand still for some reason? The Walter Robot-directed clip was so highly anticipated it got a prime-time debut on MTV earlier tonight. MTV! In the event you weren’t tuned in for Disaster Date, you can watch it here:

Or watch here (after a commercial) if the YouTube comes down.

The Twilight Saga: New Moon soundtrack is out 10/20 via Atlantic at Hot Topic stores nationwide. Here’s the tracklist again:

01 Death Cab For Cutie – “Meet Me On The Equinox”
02 Band Of Skulls – “Friends”
03 Thom Yorke- “Hearing Damage”
04 Lykke Li – “Possibility”
05 The Killers – “A White Demon Love Song”
06 Anya Marina – “Satellite Heart”
07 Muse – “I Belong To You (New Moon Remix)”
08 Bon Iver and St. Vincent – “Rosyln”
09 Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – “Done All Wrong”
10 Hurricane Bells – “Monsters”
11 Sea Wolf – “The Violet Hour”
12 Ok Go – “Shooting The Moon”
13 Grizzly Bear (Feat. Victoria Legrand) – “Slow Life”
14 Editors – “No Sound But The Wind”
15 Alexandre Desplat – “New Moon (The Meadow)”

Note the $500 version comes with a poster.