The Flaming Lips And Heady Fwends Details

For a while, we’ve been hearing bits and pieces about a forthcoming album of collaborations that the Flaming Lips plan to release on Record Store Day, April 21. Well, they actually did it, cobbling together two LPs’ worth of big-name collabs in time for the big day. The album is an extremely limited Record Store Day exclusive which apparently won’t be repressed, and it’s being pressed on high-quality, multi-color discs, with no two looking exactly alike, so show up really, really early if you want this thing.

A few of the songs come from the run of limited-edition collaborative EPs that the band released last year, but more of them are unique to the project. And the album, entitled The Flaming Lips And Heavy Fwends, features collabs with Bon Iver, Coldplay’s Chris Martin, Erykah Badu, My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Nick Cave, and, yup, Ke$ha. We’ve got the tracklist below.

01 “2012” (Feat. Ke$ha & Biz Markie)
02 “Ashes In The Air” (Feat. Bon Iver)
03 “Helping The Retarded To Know God” (Feat. Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeros)
04 “Supermoon Made Me Want To Pee” (Feat. Prefuse 73)
05 “Children Of The Moon” (Feat. Tame Impala)
06 “That Ain’t My Trip” (Feat. Jim James)
07 “You, Man? Human?” (Feat. Nick Cave)
08 “I’m Working At NASA On Acid” (Feat. Lightning Bolt)
09 “Do It!” (Feat. Yoko Ono)
10 “Is David Bowie Dying?” (Feat. Neon Indian)
11 “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face” (Feat. Erykah Badu)
12 “Thunder Drops” (Feat. New Fumes)
13 “I Don’t Want You To Die” (Feat. Chris Martin)