Vashti Bunyan – “Across The Water”

The cultishly beloved folk singer Vashti Bunyan has recorded a grand total of three albums over a 44-year career, and the third of those albums, Heartleap, comes out in October. While Bunyan’s last album, 2005’s Lookaftering, was a freak-folk coronation of sorts, with guest appearances from people like Devendra Banhart and Joanna Newsom, Heartleap is more of a personal solo affair; Bunyan recorded and edited most of the album herself. The album’s opening track is “Across The Water,” a soft and beautiful meditation, built from quietly picked guitar and shivery keyboard, that hits like a tonic. It is a very, very pretty way to start your day. Listen to the song and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Across The Water”
02 “Holy Smoke”
03 “Mother”
04 “Jellyfish”
05 “Shell”
06 “The Boy”
07 “Gunpowder”
08 “Blue Shed”
09 “Here”
10 “Heartleap”

Heartleap is out 10/7 on DiCristina.