The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion – “Do The Get Down”

It’s amazing how quickly the great ’90s garage honkers in the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion went from a festival-reunion attraction to becoming, once again, a working band. The JSBX just announced their second album since they got back together a few years ago. The follow-up to 2012’s Meat And Bone has the great title Freedom Tower – No Wave Dance Party 2015, and the band is calling it “a document of New York City, a chronicle of grit and terror and love.” The promising first single “Do The Get Down” finds the band flirting with the same funk and hip-hop sounds they played around with on 1994’s Orange, which is, for my money, their best album. It comes with a video, edited by Allen Cordell, that jumbles together a series of iconic NYC images. Check out the single and the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Funeral”
02 “Wax Dummy”
03 “Do The Get Down”
04 Betty Vs. The NYPD”
05 “White Jesus”
06 “Born Bad”
07 “Down And Out”
08 “Crossroad Hop”
09 “The Ballad Of Joe Buck”
10 “Dial Up Doll”
11 “Bellevue Baby”
12 “Tales Of Old New York: The Rock Box”
13 “Cooking For Television”
(via Pitchfork)

Freedom Tower – No Wave Dance Party 2015 is out 3/24 on Mom + Pop.