Mercury Rev – “The Queen Of Swans” + The Light In You Details

Mercury Rev – “The Queen Of Swans” + The Light In You Details

Starting in 1991, Buffalo fabulists Mercury Rev have made seven albums of expansive, wide-eyed, majestic psychedelic rock. It’s been a while since they released the last of those albums; Snowflake Midnight came out way back in 2008. But in September, they’ll be back with The Light In You, their eighth LP. And this is the first of their albums that longtime co-leaders Jonathan Donahue and Grasshopper have produced themselves. Sometime Mercury Rev member and psych-rock super-producer Dave Fridmann usually produces their albums, but scheduling conflicts kept him out of this one. Still, first single “The Queen Of Swans” has the elaborate, layered, finely orchestrated sound that’s come to characterize the band. Below, listen to “The Queen Of Swans” and check out the album’s tracklist.

01 “The Queen Of Swans”
02 “Amelie”
03 “You’ve Gone With So Little For So Long”
04 “Central Park East”
05 “Emotional Freefall”
06 “Coming Up For Air”
07 “Autumn’s In The Air”
08 “Are You Ready?”
09 “Sunflower”
10 “Moth Light”
11 “Rainy Day Record”

The Light In You is out 9/18 on Bella Union.

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?