Download Nicolas Jaar Pomegranates

Several months ago, Nicolas Jaar shared a new alternate score he composed for Sergei Parajanov’s 1969 experimental film The Color Of Pomegranates, posting the entire movie synced up to his new soundtrack on Youtube. It has since been removed due to a copyright claim from Capricci Films, but now Jaar is offering it up as a free standalone album under the shortened title Pomegranates. He says that this version will not sync up with the film.

(via Pitchfork)

The download also includes some art and a lengthy note explaining the origins of the project. Many of the songs were leftovers from various other projects that didn’t end up going anywhere. Here’s what Jaar writes about how it all came together:

At the beginning of 2015 my friend Milo heard some of these songs and told me about the film. I watched it and was dumbfounded. I felt the aesthetic made complete sense with the strange themes I had been obsessed with over the past couple of years..I was curious to see what my songs sounded like when synced with the images, which turned into a 2-day bender where I soundtracked the entire film, creating a weird collage of the ambient music I had made over the last 2 years.

The film gave me a structure to follow and themes to stick to.It gave clarity to this music that was made mostly out of and through chaos. It also gave me the balls to put it out… I wanted to do some screenings but the guy who owns the rights to the film only wants the original version of the movie out there. I can’t blame him, I’m sure Paradjanov wouldn’t want some kid in NY pissing all over his masterpiece and calling it a soundtrack! I’ve listened to it a couple of times without watching the movie and I think it stands on its own. Or at least I hope it can!

01 “Garden Of Eden”
02 “Construction”
03 “Pass The Time”
04 “Survival”
05 “The Fool And His Harem”
06 “Nothingness”
07 “Near Death”
08 “Beasts Of This Earth”
09 “Fall Into Time”
10 “Folie à Deux”
11 “Screams At The Edge Of Dawn”
12 “Divorce”
13 “Three Windows”
14 “Tourists”
15 “Shame”
16 “Tower Of Sin”
17 “Club Kapital”
18 “Volver”
19 “Spirit”
20 “Muse”

According to one of the files in the download, Pomegranates will come out on vinyl “one day” via Jaar’s imprint Other People.

Tags: Nicolas Jaar