Coldplay – “Adventure Of A Lifetime”

Coldplay – “Adventure Of A Lifetime”

London’s investigative-journalist Coldplay heads were right: Coldplay’s new album A Head Full Of Dreams is coming out at the top of next month. This time around, the album comes absolutely stuffed with guests: Beyoncé, Noel Gallagher, Swedish rising pop star Tove Lo, gospel howler/”Gimme Shelter” backup singer Merry Clayton. It looks like Brian Eno had no hand in the proceedings; instead, Coldplay worked with the glossy Norwegian pop-production team Stargate, as well as longtime collaborator Rik Simpson. They recorded the album in Malibu, L.A., and London.

Frontman Chris Martin has been talking about this album as maybe their last one. In an interview with Zane Lowe last year, he said that the new LP would be “the completion of something” and elaborated: “I have to think of it as the final thing we’re doing. Otherwise we wouldn’t put everything into it.” So we might not have Coldplay to kick around too much longer anymore.

The album’s first single is certainly a bright, sparkly pop tune, even by this band’s standards. We’ve already heard a bit of “Adventure Of A Lifetime,” but the whole thing is online now. And it’s a Coldplay take on disco-funk, with an Afro-pop guitar figure and some strutting rhythm-section work along with all the usual vague uplift. Below, check out the new song, the album’s tracklist, and watch the band doing a comedy bit for BBC Radio 1 in which they try to make hits out of the most boring lyrics possible.

01 “A Head Full Of Dreams”
02 “Birds”
03 “Hymn For The Weekend”
04 “Everglow”
05 “Adventure Of A Lifetime”
06 “Fun”
07 “Kaleidoscope”
08 “Army Of One”
09 “Amazing Day”
10 “Colour Spectrum”
11 “Up&Up”
12 “X Marks The Spot” *

* hidden track

A Head Full Of Dreams is out 12/4 on Parlophone/Atlantic.

more from News