Liars – “Sekwar”

Liars – “Sekwar”

Liars, which has functioned as the solo project of longtime vocalist Angus Andrew for about half a decade now, haven’t released an album since 2018’s Titles With The Word Fountain. Andrew has popped up intermittently since then, remixing P.E. in pre-pandemic times and duetting with Jamie Stewart on the recent Xiu Xiu album. Now it seems he’s ready to unleash another Liars album on the world.

A new Liars single called “Sekwar” premiered tonight on Marc Riley’s BBC Radio 6 show. Sonically it exists somewhere between Arab Strap and Radiohead circa Hail To The Thief, with Andrew alternately sing-speaking and belting out melodies over a throbbing, clattering electronic rock pulse. According to Riley, “Sekwar” is from an album called The Apple Drop, which is dropping in August. That’s about all the info we have so far, but a video for “Sekwar” is premiering Wednesday at 9AM ET, at which point more details will probably emerge.

UPDATE: Yes, there’s more info now. Despite Liars’ new status as a solo project, Andrew sought to make The Apple Drop a deeply collaborative affair, working with avant-garde jazz drummer Laurence Pike, multi-instrumentalist Cameron Deyell, and lyricist Mary Pearson Andrew. (Angus and Mary, of the late, great High Places, are married.) “Momentum and revolution were themes I wanted to explore, to give the listener this sense of transformation and to feel like you were being transported through the wormhole,” Andrew writes in a press release.

More from Andrew:

Throughout Liars’ history I have consistently tried to develop new methods of creating music. On each project I’ve essentially abandoned previous methods and attempted to instead learn different ways of writing and producing songs. Where once I perceived this journey as a straight line, I’m increasingly realising my trajectory is more akin to a spiral. As new ideas are generated, older ones take on new meaning and evolve further.

Watch director Clemens Habicht’s “Sekwar” video below.

01 “The Start”
02 “Slow And Turn Inward”
03 “Sekwar”
04 “Big Appetite”
05 “From What The Never Was”
06 “Star Search”
07 “My Pulse To Ponder”
08 “Leisure War”
09 “King Of The Crooks”
10 “Acid Crop”
11 “New Planets New Undoings”

The Apple Drop is out 8/6 on Mute. Pre-order it here.

Clemens Habicht

more from New Music

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?