Neil Young Shares Tracklist & Release Date For Shelved 1975 Album Homegrown Plus A Fourth Fireside Session

Neil Young Shares Tracklist & Release Date For Shelved 1975 Album Homegrown Plus A Fourth Fireside Session

Seems like this Neil Young Homegrown release is really going to happen! On Neil Young Archives today is the tracklist and release date for the legendary shelved album, which he’s been prepping for release this year. Young recorded the bulk of the material in 1974 with release initially planned for 1975. “It was a little too personal,” Young told Cameron Crowe in a Rolling Stone interview at the time. “It scared me. I’ve never released any of those. And I probably never will. I think I’d be too embarrassed to put them out. They’re a little too real.”

Well, they’re coming out now — specifically, on 6/19. Here’s the official tracklist:

01 “Separate Ways”
02 “Try”
03 “Mexico”
04 “Love Is A Rose”
05 “Homegrown”
06 “Florida”
07 “Kansas”
08 “We Don’t Smoke It No More”
09 “White Line”
10 “Vacancy”
11 “Little Wing”
12 “Star Of Bethlehem”

Also on Neil Young Archives today is another Fireside Session. Throughout these weeks of widespread quarantine, the legendary folk-rocker has been sharing these videos, sort of EP-length solo acoustic sets filmed in various spots around his homestead in the Rockies, shot and edited on an iPad by his wife, Daryl Hannah. They’ve teamed up for three so far, and now there is a fourth.

This latest session is comparatively long, spanning 37 minutes and eight songs. It begins with “One Of These Days” by a campfire before Young takes his guitar inside. By the fireplace, between “Good To See You” and “Daddy Went Walkin’,” is his first known public performance of “Through My Sails.” The scene shifts to the piano for “After The Goldrush” and “Mother Earth,” then goes back outside for “Distant Camera.” It wraps up with another piano song, “Are You Ready For The Country,” matched with images of Young’s dogs playing in nature. Notably, three of these songs are from Young’s 2000 album Silver & Gold, which turned 20 years old a couple weeks back. Check it out at Neil Young Archives.

Homegrown is out 6/19 on Warner.

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?